Wed, Sep 4th, 2013

Hocking College employees were recognized for excellence on Monday, August 26, 2013.  Students and peers nominated faculty and staff for either the Excellence in Service or Excellence in Instruction Award.  Nominations were also solicited for the Curtis Miles Service Award.

The winners of the Excellence in Instruction Award were Cheryl Cesta, Dawn Shingler and David Swanson. Any Hocking College full-time or part-time faculty who has been employed for one full year that has not won the award in the past five years is eligible for nomination. Shingler’s nomination stated, “Dawn engages students and motivates them to participate. She is an excellent teacher.”

The winners of the Excellence in Service Award were Debra Canter, Kevin Moore and Claudia Haning. This award is given to any Hocking College non-instructional staff, who has been employed for at least one year that has not won in the last five years. Haning’s nomination said, “To say that Claudia ‘goes the extra mile’ is an understatement.”

Jane McClain was honored with the Curtis Miles Service Award. This award recognizes Hocking College employees who have distinguished themselves by helping people in need. All Hocking employees who have provided service to the community are eligible for nomination. The nomination submitted on McClain’s behalf stated that, “I cannot think of anyone who has so quietly, so modestly and self-effacingly served the Logan community as Jane McClain and believe she deserves this recognition for her diligent efforts.”

Print Directions
Turn By Turn:
Reset Close