Anthony G. Nickel/Clara Patterson Memorial Scholarship

Clara Patterson was a resident of Glouster, Ohio. The Memorial Scholarship was established to honor her and her beloved employer, Anthony Nickel. Scholarship awards are available to qualifying students from Trimble Township in Athens County, Ohio.

Bordering States Scholarship

The Bordering States Scholarship is available to current year high school graduates of West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Michigan and Kentucky. The scholarship provides tuition assistance for the out-of-state surcharge (up to $1,000 per academic term). Students must be enrolled in a minimum number of semester credit hours to qualify (12 for autumn and spring semesters, less allowed for summer semester). Students must also complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) before being eligible for the scholarship.

Florence I. Parker Memorial Scholarship

Florence Parker was a resident of Glouster, Ohio. She was a community supporter and helped fund the Trimble Township Memorial Park. The scholarship was established to honor her memory and to provide assistance to students from the community that she loved - Trimble Township in Athens County, Ohio. Consideration is also given to students from other areas of Athens County if no qualifying applicant from Trimble Township exists.

J.R. Hooper Academic Scholarship

James R. Hooper lives in Zanesville, Ohio, and is a retiree of Ohio Power Company (AEP.) He was one of the founding Board of Trustee members for Hocking College and served as a past chairman of the board. Jim was an integral part of the college's creation and he helped encourage the college's separation from Tri-County Joint Vocational School in the late 1960s to establish it as an independent technical college. Jim also worked with then Governor James A. Rhodes on the funding initiative for Ohio's statewide technical colleges. The land that the main buildings of Hocking College sit on was once farmland that belonged to the grandfather of Jim's late wife, Betty Lee Mathews Hooper.

The scholarship was established to honor Jim's service and dedication to Hocking College and higher education in Ohio. Students who reside in Athens, Hocking, Perry or Muskingum counties are eligible for the scholarship award.

James E. and Betty J. Blower Memorial Scholarship

James Blower was a native of Trimble Township in Athens County, Ohio. Betty Blower desired to memorialize her husband by establishing a scholarship in his name at Hocking College.

First consideration is given to residents of Trimble Township with residents outside of Trimble Township, but within Athens County, receiving secondary consideration. Recipients must maintain an appropriate grade point average.

Leah G. Featherston Scholarship

Leah Featherston was a resident of Athens, Ohio who left provisions for a scholarship to be established that would benefit students from Athens, County.

First consideration is given to students from the Village of Chauncey in Dover Township. Applicants must maintain an appropriate grade point average and demonstrate financial need in order to receive the scholarship.

Martha and Earl Elberfeld Scholarship

Martha and Earl Elberfeld were prominent business owners and entrepreneurs in Logan, Ohio. The couple owned and operated Elberfeld's Department Store. Earl was past president of the Logan-Hocking School Board, a founder of the Hocking Valley Community Hospital and a founder and member of the original board of directors of the Citizen's Bank of Logan. He was also a certified tree farmer and worked with Hocking College students to reforest his land where trees were cut during World War II to provide wood to build military aircraft.

The Martha and Earl Elberfeld Scholarship was established in 2008 by their daughter Martha Sampsell and her husband David to recognize her parents' spirit and dedication to education and Hocking College.

The scholarship is awarded annually to Logan High School graduates with a minimum 3.0 GPA. First choice is given to students entering the Forest Management program, with second consideration given to those entering the Business Management program.

Rex and Nancy Smith Maiden Memorial Scholarship

Rex and Nancy Maiden were residents of Nelsonville, Ohio, and avid supporters of the community and Hocking College. They operated a family-owned business, named Maiden and Jenkins Construction. Rex was an active member of the Hocking College Foundation Board and generously donated to the college's Environmental Restoration program in the form of equipment, time and expertise.

Rex made provisions for a scholarship to honor Nancy through an insurance policy that he purchased in 1988. Upon his death in 2004, the family decided to honor both Rex and Nancy with the scholarship. The scholarship is available to graduates of Athens County high schools and is based upon academic performance and service to the community and others. Selection for the scholarship is made by the high schools.

Print Directions
Turn By Turn:
Reset Close